CSTA Regional Chapters

As part of its commitment to meeting the needs of CSTA members and developing a strong community of computer science educators, CSTA supports the development of regional CSTA chapters. A CSTA chapter is a local branch of CSTA designed to facilitate discussion of local issues, provision of member services at the local level, and to promote CSTA membership on the national level.

Due to international laws relating to fiduciary responsibility for chapters, CSTA is unable to support the formation of chapters in countries other than the U.S. and Canada. For this reason, we have established an international affiliates program and provided a comprehensive guide on affiliate formation. For more information, click here.

Contact information for CSTA local chapters is not to be used for commercial or fundraising purposes by any organization other than CSTA.


Current CSTA Chapters

Chapter
Contact
Alabama

Website:
Jeffrey Baker
Jeffrey.Baker@hsv-k12.org
sites.google.com/site/
alabamacsta/home

Arizona
Phoenix area


Website:
Tim McMichael
azcsta@gmail.com


sites.google.com/site/
arizonacsta

Arkansas

Website:
Carl Frank
CarlFrank@gmail.com
cstaarkansas.org
California
Golden Gate Area

Website:


Sacramento


San Diego

Website:

Silicon Valley


Southern CA

Website:


Eugene Lemon
elemon@pacbell.net
sites.google.com/
site/ggcsta


Stephanie Allen
stephanieallen415@gmail.com

Joe Pistone
jpistone@palomar.edu
sandiegocsta.org

Pierre Bierre
pierre@AlgoGeom.org

Victor Casas
vmcasas7@gmail.com
cstasocal.org

CANADA: Alberta

Website:
Lance Pedersen
Lance.Pedersen@epsb.ca
cstaab.com
CANADA: British Columbia

Kurt Eiselt
eiselt@cs.ubc.ca
CANADA: Manitoba
Larry Wachs
mrLWachs@gmail.com
CANADA: Saskatchewan

Website:
Daryl Hepting
hepting@cs.uregina.ca
csta.cs.uregina.ca
Colorado
Front Range

Contact:
chapters@csta.acm.org
Connecticut


Website:
Chinma Uche
president@ctcsta.org

ctcsta.org
Delaware

James Sekcienski
james.sekcienski@appo.k12.de.us
Florida


Website:
Joanne Barrett
jbarrett@oda.edu

sites.google.com/site/cstafl/home
Georgia


Website:
Deepa Muhalidhar
georgiacsta@gmail.com

http://sites.google.com/site/
georgiacsta/

Illinois
Chicago


Website:

Chicago Suburbs


Website:


Don Yanek
dgyanek@cps.edu

cstachicago.org

Steven Svetlik
ssvetlik@dist113.org

bit.ly/chisuburbanCSTA

Indiana
Hoosier-Heartland


Website:
Julie Alano
info@incsta.org

incsta.org
Kansas


Website:
Lamoreaux Fulwider
lfulwider@colbyeagles.org

cstakansas.org
Kentucky-Kentuckiana

Scott Horan
scott.horan2@jefferson.kyschools.us
Maryland


Website:

Marie desJardins
mariedj@cs.umbc.edu
sites.google.com/site/
cstamaryland

Massachusetts

Greater Boston


Website:



Western MA


Website:
Kelly Powers

cstagreaterboston@gmail.com

sites.google.com/site/
cstagreaterbostonchapter/
home


Victor Rojas
vrojas@hbgc.org

sites.google.com/site/
cstawmass

Michigan

Website:

Barry Webster
bwebster@barrywebster.com
barrywebster.com/
micsta.html

Minnesota-Gopher State


Website:
Doug Maine
dmaine@owatonna.k12.mn.us

gopherstate-csta.wikispaces.com
Missouri
St. Louis

Contact:
chapters@csta.acm.org
Nebraska

Huskers
Website:

Omaha


Steve Carr
info@nebraskaCSTA.org
nebraskacsta.org

Derek Babb
dbabb1@gmail.com
New Hampshire

Website:
Tammy Andrew
tammyandrew7@gmail.com

sites.google.com/site/cstanh

New Jersey

Central NJ
Website:


Northern NJ
Website:



Daryl Detrick
DarylDetrick@CSTANJ.org
cstanj.org/csta-central-nj

Mayra Bachrach
bachrach.mayra@gmail.com
cstanj.org/csta-north-nj
New Mexico

Rebecca Raulie
beckey.raulie@gmail.com
New York

Central NY

Website:


Hudson Valley

Website:


Long Island

Website:


NYC area

Website:


Western NY

Website:




Ryan Swan

zhangs@oneonta.edu
facebook.com/pages/
CSTA-Central-New-York


Cynthia Marcello
cmarcello@nyhudsonvalleycsta.com
nyhudsonvalleycsta.com

Contact:
chapters@csta.acm.org
sites.google.com/
site/linycsta


Contact:
chapters@csta.acm.org
sites.google.com/
site/nyccsta


Carl Alphonce
wny.csta@gmail.com
sites.google.com/
site/wnycsta


North Carolina

Piedmont

Website:

Triangle East

Website:



Susan Morrissett
morriss3@gcsnc.com

csta-ncpiedmont.org

Marnie Hill
hillm1@pitt.k12.nc.us

facebook.com/groups/1524449731108699
Ohio


Website:
Angie Thorne
athorne1@gmail.com

cstaohio.com
Oregon

Kathy Zettl-Shaffer
kzschaffer@gmail.com
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia


Website:

Jean Griffin
csta.philly@gmail.com

sites.google.com/site/
cstaphilly

Rhode Island

Website:
Ann Moskol
csta-ri@gmail.com

csta-ri.org
South Carolina


Website:

Contact:
chapters@csta.acm.org
sites.google.com/site/
cstasc/home

Texas
Central


Dallas/Fort Worth


Greater Houston area


Contact:

chapters@csta.acm.org


Cindy Gallatin
Cynthia.gallatin@pisd.edu


Stacey Armstrong
stacey.armstrong
@apluscomputerscience.com
Utah


Website:

Cody Henrichsen
cody.henrichsen@gmail.com

sites.google.com/
site/utahcsta

Virginia
Central VA

Website:

Northern VA

Website:


Rebecca Dovi
dovimath@gmail.com
vacsta.wordpress.com

Ann Drobnis
anndrobnis@gmail.com
nvcsta.blogspot.com

Washington
Puget Sound

Website:

Spokane

Greg Kilpatrick
kilpatrickg@csta.acm.org

pscsta.org

Josh Harrison
joshuaha@spokaneschools.org

West Virginia


Dr. Venkat Gudivada
gudivada@marshall.edu
Wisconsin
Dairyland


Andrew Kuemmel
andykuemmel@gmail.com

Forming a CSTA Chapter

Newly-formed chapters should ideally include local computer science teachers and a university or college site or school district site willing to host regular meetings.

Groups wishing to apply for chapter status must be able to fulfill the chapter obligations listed below.

Benefits/Resources available to a CSTA Chapter

  • Approved use of the CSTA name
  • Unlimited use of CSTA Chapter logo for identification
  • Listing of regular meeting times/activities in the CSTA Voice
  • Advice and support from a special CSTA Chapter Liaison
  • Contact information for all CSTA members in local region upon request
  • CSTA promotional materials
  • Opportunity for chapter president to attend leadership events
  • Publicity of professional development opportunities in region
  • Facilitation of connections to local post-secondary institutions interested in K-12 issues

Obligations of a CSTA Chapter

  • Have a minimum of 8 members, not all from the same institution
  • Hold regular membership meetings
  • Have identified leadership structure (all chapter officers must be CSTA members in good standing)
  • Formal set of bylaws meeting the conditions:
    • Organization name reflecting geographic location
    • Clearly stated purpose/mission aligned to the CSTA mission
    • Continuity of elected leadership
    • Non-restrictive membership
    • Dissolution clause providing for excess funds
  • Provide standardized, on-going communication to members
  • Provide an annual report to CSTA and chapter membership of activities of past year and proposed plan for upcoming year
  • Regularly communicate updates regarding leadership, membership, and activities with CSTA chapter liaison
  • Maintain relationships with other local chapters as appropriate
  • Answer requests for information from CSTA promptly
  • Promote CSTA to its membership and in the local region

Chapter applications must be submitted in writing to the CSTA Board of Directors in care of the Chapter Liaison at chapters@csta.acm.org. All completed applications are subject to approval by the CSTA Executive Committee based on the recommendation of the CSTA Chapter Liaison and Executive Director.

For questions with regard to local chapter formation, please contact the CSTA Chapter Liaison at chapters@csta.acm.org.

Download CSTA Chapter Application and Bylaw Template




   

CSTA works at many levels to support computing education.

Elementary and Middle school
(problem solving &
computational thinking)

High school
(computing &
computer science)

College/university
(enrollment &
transition)

Industry
(engagement &
preparation)